Stocking up

Yes, we knew they were expensive. Everybody warns you. But I don’t think we knew just how expensive until we started looking at actual costs of everything from the daily stuff to the monthly stuff to the oh-my-god-how-does-anyone-afford-college stuff?

pack1

A very small idea I read on another blog is one we’re trying out — buy one package of diapers, in varying sizes and using whatever coupons apply, on regular shopping trips throughout pregnancy. The diapers that had been stockpiled lasted the blogger a year — and was one less thing on the weekly/monthly expense tab.

1 Response to “Stocking up”


  1. 1 Jayne October 1, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    There’s always hand-me-downs! A lot of my favorite things for Augie were someone else’s favorite things first.

    Anyhow, I’d be careful about stockpiling diapers. You never know what you will like when you are putting them on the kid. One of the things I was really excited about for Augie was the diaper covers that I LOVED on Milo, but Aug is built so differently and they just plain didn’t work on him. And I’ve heard people say the same about ‘sposies, that you might have to try a few brands before you find one that works for your babe.

    And if either of you is going to run for president someday, it might be useful to be able to say that you used gDiapers. lol I haven’t tried them, but I hear they’re pretty nice.

    I’m really excited you guys are expecting!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to "What's Next" and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers


