Getting ready for back to the grind

In one month from today, I’ll head back to work. A month sounds like a long time, but then when I think about how fast the last three have gone, I know it will be here too soon.

I had huge plans of Things to Get Done for this leave, which was kind of silly to begin with, since showering/eating healthy-ish meals/having clean clothes all now count as Major Accomplishments. Still, a surprising number of projects lingering around forever (wedding thank you’s!) and house improvements (dog fence!) have been completed.

Now, I’m trying to think about how people accomplish all of these day-to-day things, plus some of the ongoing larger projects, while maintaining friendships and relationships, and exercising, and add in work. Without losing their minds. Yikes. Among the suggestions:

  • Cheat. Do just what you absolutely need to do and let the rest go.
  • Hire as much out as you can.
  • Set out the whole week’s clothes, including shoes and accessories, on Sunday, so you know you have everything you need and don’t have to think about it.
  • Meal planning. Plan out your meals and prep everything for lunches that you can on Sunday. Prep everything on Sunday to make that week’s dinners in 15 minutes or less.
  • Get up earlier than God to work out.

So, mamas (and papas)? What are your other tips for easing the transition and getting through the work weeks? What other systems have you tried that have or haven’t worked? Is there anything you wish you knew or had done differently when you returned to work?

3 Responses to “Getting ready for back to the grind”


  1. 1 Jill June 15, 2010 at 2:48 am

    For me going back to work scared me. I thought there was no way I would survive. However, at the same time I looked forward to returning to the adult world also. The first couple days were a little rough and then I was in a routine again. Just like when the baby was born and that was my new normal, this was now my new normal. I loved my time at work and it made me love my time with H even more. You just figure out how to get it all done and you also learn how to let go a little. Like, does my house need to be perfect all the time? No. Etc. You’ll be surprised how quickly it all works itself out. Just like you couldn’t imagine how you were going to shower again when the baby was first born and can now accomplish that task rather easily I am sure!

  2. 2 Aleece June 16, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Because I’m really bad at getting up “earlier than God” to work out I started taking my running clothes to work and will “run commute” home once or twice a week (I take the bus to get to work). It’s about a 4-5 mile run, so it works out really well.

    Don’t let anything slide into “I’ll do that in the morning before I leave” because you’ll never have time! Organize the night before.

    I also set myself recurring reminders to email or call friends. When everyone starts to build their family it seems harder and harder to remember to call each other. It’s amazing how long a month can go by without talking to your best friends!

    Good luck! It will all fall into place with time


  1. 1 Back to work: an update « What's Next Trackback on August 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to "What's Next" and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers


